I’M ONLY HAPPY WHEN IT RAINS!

by evseymour

Remember that fab song from ‘Garbage’ with the chorus: “Pour your misery down”? Even if you don’t, the track definitely resonates with me, and particularly this morning as I tap away to the sound of heavy rain battering the roof of my hideout. Don’t get me wrong, solid and persistent rainfall with high winds usually conjures up images of flood and chaos, horrible for those badly affected, I realise, yet I always view it with relish, as a chance to bunker down and write my socks off.   ‘Good working weather,’ I mutter, eyeing up the next dark cloud as it heads our way.

Perhaps it’s connected to genre. If you’re a writer of frothy chick-lit or rom-com, do you yearn for wall-to-wall sunshine? Maybe romantic novelists are turned on by seductive misty mornings (think hero or heroine striding out of the murk). Does an impressive solar eclipse provide inspiration to sci-fi writers?   Does tempest and tornado do it for horror writers?

But back to rainclouds: I reckon it’s connected to light, or rather absence of it. It’s harder to write dark ‘goings-on’ in blazing sunshine and seventy-degree heat, somehow. You may rightly point out: “What about those novelists, (usually famous) who take off to pen their entire novel in foreign (hot) climes?” Well, I guess if you’re that talented, you don’t need a helping hand from Mother Nature.

So, taking advantage of our current weather pattern, I’m writing a much shorter post this week. Got a novel to write…

